How We Created a Vision:
People and

Process for Creating the Vision

To create a vision for the future of transportation and communities in Utah, a team of experts gathered over a two-year period to share knowledge and extensively research and discuss options for designing communities and transportation infrastructure. Members of the Transportation and Communities Action Team were selected by Governor Gary Herbert and Envision Utah to represent a spectrum of professional experience and political affiliations. Team members included transportation officials, mayors, legislators, city planners, developers, and other experts from across the state.

From 2013 to 2015, the action team met to identify Utahns’ choices related to transportation and communities, create scenarios for public input, and synthesize a vision for the future. The process of creating this vision also included the following components:

A 2014 values study

This study was conducted by Heart+Mind Strategies to identify (1) what factors Utahns view as affecting their quality of life the most and (2) the underlying emotions and values tied to those factors. The study concluded that Utahns want to spend less time driving and commuting, so they can save money and have more time to spend doing other activities, like being with their friends and families.

A 2014 land availability and market study

This study was commissioned to determine where development is likely to occur in the future. The primary investigator in this study, RCLCO, took into consideration where vacant land is located, where market demand is the strongest, and what types of housing and other development are likely to be needed by Utahns. To download a complete report of the findings of this study, click here.

The “Build Your 2050 Utah” web app

BuildYour2050.PNGThis app allowed Utahns to identify what factors concerning transportation and communities are most important to them and to visualize the effect certain decisions would have. More than 3,000 people across Utah gave input through the app, and the information gathered indicates that Utahns want the following:

  1. Neighborhoods with a variety of housing types.
  2. Amenities like jobs and shopping that are close to where people live.
  3. An array of convenient and affordable transportation options in most communities.

Envision Tomorrow Plus modeling software

Using this software, a variety of population growth patterns were modeled to show what Utah might look like in 2050. These projections differed in how places developed, the amount of land consumed by development, the size of single-family lots, the variety of housing types, the extent of different transportation options, and the extent to which Utah’s urban and suburban areas would create a pattern of mixed-use centers.

The action team used this information to create four different scenarios for the future of transportation and communities in Utah. These scenarios differed in where community and transportation development occurs, what the development includes and how it is designed, how much land is developed, and the availability of transportation options. These scenarios were presented to the public in the Your Utah, Your Future survey in spring 2015, and 52,845 Utahns weighed in.

After receiving public input on the four scenarios, the action team met to frame a vision, including goals and strategies, to achieve what Utahns said they wanted for transportation and communities in 2050.


Transportation & Communities Action Team


Carlos Braceras

Director, Utah Department of Transportation

H. David Burton

Chair, Utah Transit Authority

Tom Dolan

Mayor, Sandy City

Larry Ellertson

Utah County Commission



  • Stuart Adams
    Utah Senate
  • Mike Allegra
    Utah Transit Authority
  • Johnny Anderson
    Utah House of Representatives
  • Nathan Anderson
    Union Pacific Railroad
  • Keith Bartholomew
    University of Utah
  • Lane Beattie
    Salt Lake Chamber
  • Roger Borgenicht
  • Jake Boyer
    The Boyer Company
  • Ken Bullock
    Utah League of Cities and Towns
  • Mike Caldwell
    Mayor, Ogden City
  • Craig Call
    Utah Land Use Institute
  • Carlton Christensen
    Salt Lake County
  • Wilford Clyde
    WW Clyde; Springville City Mayor
  • Lew Cramer
    Coldwell Banker Commercial Intermountain
  • John Curtis
    Provo City Mayor
  • Dean Dinas
    KI Technologies Inc.
  • Jim Eardley
    Washington County
  • Dan England
    C.R. England
  • Rolayne Fairclough
    Rolayne Fairclough LLC
  • Gage Froer
    Utah House of Representatives
  • Chris Gamvroulas
    Ivory Development
  • Brent Garder
    Utah Association of Counties
  • Jeff Gilbert
    Cache Metropolitan Planning Organization
  • David Golden
    Wells Fargo; Salt Lake Chamber of Commerce
  • Andrew Gruber
    Wasatch Front Regional Council
  • Dan Harbeke
    Union Pacific Railroad
  • Wayne Harper
    Utah Senate
  • Jeff Holt
    Utah Department of Transportation
  • Greg Hughes
    Utah House of Representatives
  • Robin Hutcheson
    Salt Lake City
  • Don Ipson
    Utah House of Representatives
  • Clark Ivory
    Ivory Homes
  • Andrew Jackson
    Mountainland Association of Governments
  • Aric A. Jensen
    American Planning Association
  • Ted Knowlton
    Wasatch Front Regional Council
  • Michael Kohler
    Wasatch County Council
  • Jon Larsen
    Wasatch Front Regional Council
  • Brent Marshall
    Tooele County Council
  • Ben McAdams
    Salt Lake County
  • Cheri McCurdy
    Uintah Transportation Special Service District
  • Ty McCutcheon
    Kennecott Land
  • Mike McKee
    Uintah County Commission
  • Martell Menlove
    State Superintendent of Public Instruction
  • Bret Millburn
    Davis County Commission
  • Kirk Miller
    American Society of Landscape Architects
  • Craig Petersen
    Logan City Mayor
  • Christine Richman
    Urban Land Institute
  • Maureen Riley
    Salt Lake City International Airport
  • Patrick Risk
    The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Brad Ross
    Freeport West
  • Brenda Scheer
    University of Utah
  • Lincoln Shurtz
    Utah League of Cities and Towns
  • Jim Smith
    Davis County Chamber of Commerce
  • Wilf Sommerkorn
    Salt Lake County
  • Gary Sontagg
    Price City
  • Bryan Thiriot
    Five County Association of Governments
  • Jack Thomas
    Park City Mayor
  • Rich Thorn
    Associated General Contractors
  • Kevin VanTassell
    Utah Senate
  • Bert Wilson
    Lehi City Mayor
  • Heather Wilson
    American Institute of Architects
  • Bryan Wright
    The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Jan Zogmaister
    Weber County Commission